Search for apps

With only 97 98 tweets and 8 blog posts under my belt, I am still trying to establish some parameters for my self-directed learning. The good thing about #blogjune is that it is giving me a reason to visit and use Twitter everyday. I admit that I am finding it a bit of a challenge to filter out some of the [interesting] noise and to decide how much time I have spend opening and reading links. However, I’m sure that by the end of #blogjune I will have developed a clearer approach. For now, scanning my twitter feed for practical tips and tools to try, seems like a good way to build my skills.

A tweet today, from Aaron Tay @aarontay prompted me to have a play with Quixey a search engine for apps. I have been looking for something like this. It it includes apps for different browsers, operating systems, desktops and mobile devices.

Quixey is designed to be searched using a keyword description of the function you are seeking, so you don’t need to know the name of a product. I am looking for a replacement for Fireshot, so I searched for the terms: screenshot annotations jpeg and limited the results to free apps for Windows. There were some promising results. The app descriptions are supplemented by snippets of information from the web that can help you to evaluate their relevance. According to Mashable it “grabs app information from forums, blogs, social media sites and additional unnamed sources in an effort to return the highest quality results.” Quixey is going to make finding relevant apps much easier and this is likely to encourage me to play more.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

