My first yarnbomb

I have developed an interest in yarnbombing. This red and yellow pole piece is my first attempt. I need to go back for a better picture. I felt a rush of excitement as I sewed it onto the pole and several people stopped for a look.

My first yarnbomb

There are a few yarnbombers active in Brunswick, so I’m hoping to get involved in some projects and become part of a community. I have big plans for brightening up the 503 bus route. The bus travels along Albion Street, which is one of the ugliest roads in Brunswick. The road and footpaths are narrow and there are no nature strips or street trees to soften the streetscape.

If you live in Melbourne and are interested in yarnbombing, a group of enthusiasts meet up at a cafe in the CBD on Sunday afternoons to knit or crochet.

Earlier in June, I wrote about International Yarn Bombing and Knit In Public Day. There was an event at Federation Square and I went along with my sister and did some crochet and chatted to some lovely women. Craft helps people to relax and the conversations flowed. In an hour I met: a recently widowed older lady who share her life story as she knitted; a couple of school teachers; and a librarian who I had worked with in 1996. We sat in beanbags and on couches under an installation which is is part of The Light in Winter Festival at Federation Square (on till the 3 July). The community was encouraged to yarnbomb the structure and I contributed to a fancy crocheted lamp which is at the heart of the installation.

I made some of the decorative flowers on the lamp

International Yarn Bombing/Knit In Public Day

I highly recommend the following book, if you want to learn more about yarnbombing as a social movement. The book also includes lots of patterns and practical tips for planning activities and building communities.

Moore, M., & Prain, L. (2009). Yarn bombing: The art of crochet and knit graffiti. Vancouver: Arsenal Pulp Press.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My first yarnbomb

  1. Sally says:

    Brilliant!! Good for you, I love that you are adding some colour to your neighbourhood 🙂

  2. Tricia says:

    Yay! It is a rush isn’t it!

Leave a Reply

